Some thoughts on Literature and other LA

We’ve done a few things for Literature. I can’t say I’ve found a favorite plan of attack yet. I do have some general ideas to share though.

We use a lot of living books- so it is all pretty reading intensive… but literature…

DD1- did a Sonlight Literature pack alongside Apologia’s Around the World in 180 days. She spent two years doing it and LOVED it. The schedule she used was developed by a homeschool mom.

DS2- worked through literature studies with Notgrass history programs. He didn’t love it, but we tackled some good stuff.

DD3- this was the one that loved to read. I could suggest books and she’d read. I wanted a little order to it though so I looked at Drawn Into the Heart of Reading (DITHOR)  and LOVE this idea! but we don’t do very well with the workbook type stuff so, we only followed the idea of reading them by genre:

  • Biography
  • Historical Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Nonfiction
  • Realistic Fiction
  • Adventure
  • Fantasy
  • Folk Tale
  • Humor

I added the category of CLASSICS. I wanted Classics to be a specific focus of our lit studies and though they fit into the other categories, I kept them as their own category.

I didn’t follow the book lists. I didn’t buy books. I just organized my shelves this way.

I don’t test them. We discuss them. We do our story dissection and plot work with movies. yes movies. Here are some examples of how I might start a discussion about a theme in a movie or some part of the plot. (This was written for my friend that wanted to expand writing but we often do it verbally) Character discussions are BIG here- Do you watch Fairy Tales? Superheros? and we like to compare- again classics and fairy tales work well here.

I don’t push or force this, but my younger girls like to do creative projects. I encourage that by printing off ideas I’ve found on Pinterest on creating non-traditional book reports. (see how I print and store digital recources. I have a few printouts collected in a report binder on our bookshelf for non-traditional book reports.)

other LA resources we enjoy

IEW’s SWI- with the DVD’s. NOT the teacher DVDs (sorry IEW great philosophy but not necessary and sleepy) print the ‘student’ part, plug in the DVD and go. They all learned to write. some love it more than others but all are capable. (we used B in middle school to early HS)

Notgrass- it includes lit and writing. awesome.

Easy Grammar Plus – we spend 2 years on it around middle school age.

King Alfred’s English – a study of the history of English http://www.theshorterword.com supplements too.

One Year Adventure Novel!!(OYAN) – what a great program. As much for the study of literature as writing. It is pricey and NaNoWriMo does nearly the same thing but it is more difficult without the videos I think. NaNoWriMo is free.

I also like Progeny Press! If we are going to do an in depth study this is the resource I like best. I usually read alongside them then and we work through the PP study verbally together.

I made them all do a specific study of poetry. We used the PP guide and suggested books.

Logic and Debate are a big thing around here too- from dinner table discussions about politics and current events to comparing characters or stories (Once Upon a Time to Disney  Movie telling to the Hans Christian Anderson original fairy tales…) The Fallacy Detective is a favorite.

It wouldn’t be fair not to note 4H here. every project and every year’s record book had lots of writing: goals, how you worked through your ideas and goals, what you learned. They did a lot of public speaking with 4H too. So we had:

structure and style- IEW

answering questions, following goals, answering in complete sentences with correct spelling and public speaking- 4H

we did creative writing with OYAN and NaNoWriMo, ideas from BraveWriter and the book Story Starters.

We studied plot, dynamics, characters, suspense…. with movies and OYAN

Poetry and History. I’m sure we’ve missed things but then- don’t we all?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

