A day in the life of a homeschooler…

It’s a common question! What does your day look like? How do you do it? How long does it take?

I’m going to TRY to outline an ideal homeschool day in my home. This is TOUGH because life happens in my home, how about yours? 😉  We swerve a LOT.

Now- first I have to outline my specific family interruptions: I have kids duel enrolled in the public school- all take band, all high schoolers take an Ag class (it is required as a part of FFA) one is involved in speech and drama, one takes Spanish and we are involved in sports programs. This usually takes 1-2 hours a day per kid class time + sports and clubs. One more thing- we live on a farm. We have animals to feed.  We live on the farm, but not at ‘the farm’ where our equipment and livestock reside. We travel about 2 miles to take care of these chores (and the public school is only 2 1/2 miles the other direction)

7:00

I get up about 7 or 7:30. I am sending my husband out the door about then- depending on season and weather.

8:00

This is MY time. I am known to dilly dally on the computer 😉  or read. I wake the kids about 8 or 8:30, drag them out to the living room semi-sleepy in their PJ’s and read to them. This is our History program.

(depending on schedules and current livestock needs- some will leave for classes at the school or chores)

9:00?

I will continue reading with the youngest- teaching reading, language lessons… while others begin their own lessons, breakfast or showers. Usually each kids list begins with math. I think it is THE MOST important one to do every single day (besides reading). Each child has a checklist/schedule and they work through it. I hang around to see if there are questions, begin making rounds to where each child has wandered to and ask ‘what did you think of….’ ‘how many did you miss in math?’ ‘have you started reading…’ also my chance to throw in a load of laundry- however the important part here is staying completely visible! If I head off to do a project? answer the phone? …. whoa. I’ve lost them. :/

1:00

My husband generally comes home for lunch between 12:30 and 1 and we eat together, sometimes discussing things we’ve learned this morning.

After lunch we finish up on anything we had set aside and some days our schedule gets busier with band or some other activity.

2:00-3:00

NOW is when each member of my family is watching for things to align- everyone is here, and everyone is ‘done’ This is our favorite part of the day! ” DONE. Mom, can we watch an episode of [Flash] together?” sometimes we watch entertainment, sometimes we watch things like ‘Brain Games’ or ‘How we got to now’ – something fun AND learning. Sometimes I only have the two youngest and we do a little drawing.

We all count it a good day when we get that down time together! (and some days we STEAL this time from school! you know those days don’t you?)

Somewhere between 3 and 5 we begin a new schedule- evening chores and evening activities and sports. we’ll meet back here again for dinner (usually in the neighborhood of 8pm!!)

9:00

-hopefully shuffle kids to bed…..then again, I said in an ideal day 😉

 

Please tell me what your schedule looks like!

3 thoughts on “A day in the life of a homeschooler…

  1. Pingback: Notebooking Fridays – farmschooliowa

  2. Pingback: Homeschool -Record Books! – farmschooliowa

  3. Pingback: Homeschool Lessons I Learned The Hard Way. – farmschooliowa

Leave a Reply

